Rimjhim Gire Saawan “…And it rained that night”

Rim Jhim Gire Sawan…sung beautifully by India’s Melody Queen Lata Mangeshkar and melodious Kishore Kumar brings out beauty of Mumbai on a rainy night. My account of …and it rained that night!

Mumbai welcomes monsoon with open arms as it gives respite from sweltering heat to Mumbaikars, rain showers bring relief and add beauty to Mumbai though it is not bereft of problems…traffic, water – logging, flight delays, restricted movements…what not!

Come monsoon and we start looking at gateways away from Mumbai to enjoy rains, but believe me Mumbai becomes beautiful in rains and I experienced that just the other day.

Mumbai rains1

I would like to share the experience:
From suburban Borivali to towny fort, I set out for a meeting in Fort area. Not very enthusiastic about going for a meeting on a rainy evening in Mumbai, I ventured out. It was raining all through during the train journey and as I reached Church Gate – it was full blown rain with no cabbie in sight. This is typical of Mumbai…cabbies want to enjoy rains with long distance passengers. Though it was evening time, but it had become absolutely dark by the time I reached meeting venue!

With no option in sight I started walking towards venue meeting…the breeze was awesome and the rains heavy. Fort area Horniman Circle – looked like Trafalgar Square in London, wide roads, greenery on both sides, epic statues, well lit old monumental building, office crowds in their colourful rain jackets and umbrellas, some of them even enjoying bhuttas, others enjoying piping hot tea on the road side stalls, vendours selling umbrellas – all these made monsoons very interesting sight. Though I was worried how would I reach home and it was already 8 o’clock with network going bust.

Watching all this and lost in my thoughts I reached the venue.

The meeting was boring, no where close to expectations, I came out and set out on reverse journey. After reaching there I thought why not catch a glimpse of Marine Drive…I walked for another 10 minutes with my good for nothing umbrella, heavy office bags, heavy rains & windy night… for the first time I listened to my heart, and walked towards Marine Drive, just to catch the glimpse of rain drenched Mumbai. I was already very late…still I showed courage to enjoy Mumbai rains in full fervor…And it rained all night..

mumbai_rainlead630  mum rains 5 mum rains 3 Mum rains 2 mum rains 6

It was unbelieving, sea was overwhelming with couples and children enjoying the rains, fearlessly walking on the parapet, completely drenched in huge seas waves…Marine Drive looked lovely as shown in Bollywood movies. Could not stay for long…but my day oops night was made…the trip looked not that bad! I think after a very long time I looked at Mumbai Monsoons positively – other wise I find them quite bugging, just bringing problems nothing else. No wonder Mumbai monsoons have inspired so many Bollywood numbers.  I got back home only to be welcomed with garam garam chai and pakoras with radio humming in the back-drop Rim Jhim Gire Sawan…And it rained all night!

I love month of Shravan as it announces rains, brings festivities like Teej, Rakshabandhan and particularly all Mondays of Sawan are considered very auspicious.

It was different this time – my spirits lifted, I was one with rains. Why don’t you too step out to enjoy monsoons on Marine Drive.

If can’t do that enjoy this video and you will know how right I am!

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

2 thoughts on “Rimjhim Gire Saawan “…And it rained that night””

Leave a Reply

