On the Tiger’s Turf

Valmik Thapar, who has spent decades trying to save tigers in the wild, reminisces about the first time he saw tigers.

Thapar has authored a book – TIGER FIRE – 500 years of the Tigers in India by Valmik Thapar, Aleph, 597 pages, Rs. 2995/-.

Must possess if you are a tiger enthusiast…

Conceieved & Edited by Valmik Thapar, an authority on Tigers in the sub-continent, the book contains stories, art, photographs and peotry about the Indian Tiger from 500 years back till now. The book has pieces and photographs from Thapar and other naturalists, writers and tiger enthusiasts, including Mughal Emperor Babur, Naturlaist Jim Corbett, Conservationist Fateh Singh Rathore and Wild Life photographer and tourism Professional Anjali Singh.

In the chapter, “The secret life of Tiger”, Thapar talks about the time he arrived in Sawai Madhopur near Ranthambore, Rajasthan India, at the age of 22 and saw the first tiger in action…present here the excerpts:

In those first weeks that I spent in Ranthmabore, I relished my privacy and complete anonymity in the forests. On the twentieth day of this first trip, I was ready to do anything to get a glimpse of what was then the really elusive tiger. I had seen its pugmarks on forest paths, heard the alarm calls of animals as it passed by once, far in the distance, I even heard its roar, but it always evaded vision. Strange it may seem, it was on the last night that I had encounter I always longed for. After dinner that night I slipped into the Jeep with two trackers…the night was pitch black with a brilliant array of stars. Our first job was to check two live baits that had been put out to attract the tiger……I watched my first tiger for two minutes in hushed silence, and it was a sight I have never forgotten.

Tiger fire 1 tiger2a--621x414

 

Info courtesy: Live Mint

 

Leave a Reply

