MOVE on DSLRs, HERE comes ASUS ZENFONE ZOOM

Product Review: ASUS ZENFONE ZOOM

index

I was delighted to receive the Smartest Camera Phone just launched in India owning to its great looks, unique features and to top it all World’s thinnest 3x optical Zoom camera with a total 12x Zoom. I thought of using it over the weekend but given that the wanderer and free-spirited I am, me and my colleague Bhagyashree snapped some moments to do some “matargashti khuli sadak par” with our ASUS Zoom. We clicked lot of pictures of high rises, Income Tax Bhawan, Wankhede Stadium and Church Gate Station. What fun it was to quickly click pictures amidst heavy traffic laden roads, traffic signals, moving church gate bound trains, century old Banyan trees, selfies on the move…and the results were just stunning! See it to believe it!!

For a travel blogger like me, it would have been an ideal companion when I am covering an assignment by Rajasthan Tourism, the Kumbhalgarh Fort and picturesque Udaipur in April end. Hope the brand is listening! Carrying ASUS ZOOM would save me from carrying heavy DSLRs, setting them up and some heavy duty maintenance. Here are some specifications of the ASUS Zenfone Zoom camera: Rear: 13MP, f/27 aperture, 10P Hoya lens, 3X optical zoom / 12x total Zoom with 4 stop optical image stabilisation (OIS), laser autofocus and dual colour Real tone flash Front 5 MP , f/2.0 – aperture, wide-angle 88-degree lens with selfie pixel master features including low light mode.

 So what makes ASUS Zoom a thing of beauty, a joy forever?

  • World thinnest 3X optical Zoom, total 12X Zoom
  • 4GB RAM, Intel PC level performance
  • 13MP Laser Auto focus camera
  • 4 Stops Optical Image Stabilization (OIS)
  • 10P HOYA Lens

Please don’t skip watching this video to get the feel of ASUS Zenfone Zoom in action:

Though Camera is just aim & shoot, and result is no less than that of a DSLR. Pitched in as world’s thinnest optical zoom smart phone with 13 MP Pixel Master Rear camera and 3x lens in a body that just measures 5 mm at the edges. The Glass made of synthetic and prismatic lenses are meticulously configured in a dual prism periscopic arrangement to capture the highest quality picture. It just worked wonderfully outdoors whereas I felt it did not work that great indoors in less light. Thought I cannot pin point the reason as I am not a techie-blogger.

Pretty Face, Sexy Back!

Everybody in my office especially men folk were enamoured by the beauty in my possession – Neighbours’ Envy, Owner’s pride!

asus_zenfone_zoom_black_front_rear_official

The ASUS Zenfone Zoom comes with a 5.5” 1920 X 1080 Full HD IPS with 178 degree viewing angle, and a 403 ppi pixel density which lends it pretty look. The back is made of leather and provides good grip to hold and click. The gadget is made of a single block of aluminium with metallic sides which measures 5 mm. I could not spot any buttons on the sides barring camera buttons, volume button and power buttons. What to say of its full screen lamination, scratch resistant Corning Gorrilla glass and anti-finger print coating.

P_20160215_111036_BF

As the time was really short I could not use it for playing games but it was important for me to know if battery works longer.  I came to know that phone charges quite fast from 0% to 60% in just 40 minutes. To me this is a great feature because as travel bloggers, while outdoors we don’t get opportunity to charge phones/ Cameras.

P_20160215_102631

Pricing, is it prohibitive, not really!

I recently bought Sony 58 dual lens DSLR Camera for Rs. 38,500 and here is the Smartphone laden with so many unique features, multiple uses, easy to hold and easier to shoot for Rs. 37,990. If you shell out 2000 extra, you can get add-ons of tripod and zen flash. Not a bad deal at all.

P_20160215_111404

Though it may not be a great buy for true – blue photographers who swear by their hi-end DSLR Cameras but for travellers and bloggers like me, ASUS Zenfone Zoom would be an ideal companion. As it would enable me keeping connected with my folks back home, playing games in my free time and clicking some great pictures without hassle for my blog, to top it all with good battery life. A blogger couldn’t have asked for more!

P_20160215_111308_DF

Technical Specifications:

Processor: 64 bit intel Super Quad – Core

Operating System: ASUS Zen UI under Android 5.0 (Lollipop)

Memory & Storage: 128 GB ROM

Connectors: 3.5mm audio jack, single micro SIM

Battery: 3000mAh non removable

IMG_20160205_142754 (360x640)

Who knows I have this beauty in my possession before I set out for my Rajasthan sojourn? Amen! #ZenFoneZoom

Leave a Reply

